three planes of samsaric existence

A threefold division of samsaric rebirth states: the planes of (1) sensory desires, (2) ethereal forms, and (3) formless beings. Sometimes called "the three realms."

Tibetan: khams-gsum

Sanskrit: tridhatu

J Hopkins: three realms; the three realms [i.e., desire realm ('dod khams, kAmadhAtu), form realm (gzugs khams, rUpadhAtu), and formless realm (gzugs med khams, arUpyadhAtu)].

Other languages

Русский: три уровня сансарного существования
Tiếng Việt: tam giới

Related terms