Ten perfections

Ten mental factors that, when held by the force of a bodhichitta aim and strengthened, serve as causes for attaining enlightenment. (1) In Mahayana, the ten are generosity, ethical self-discipline, patience, perseverance, concentration or mental stability and wisdom or discriminating awareness, skill in means, aspirational prayer, strengthening, and deep awareness. (2) In Theravada, the ten are generosity, ethical self-discipline, renunciation of attachment, wisdom or discriminating awareness, perseverance, patience, being true to one's word, resolution, love, and equanimity. (3) The list in Bon is the same as in Mahayana, except that deep awareness is omitted and compassion is added.

Tibetan: ཕ་རོལ་ཏུ་ཕྱིན་པ་བཅུ། pha-rol-tu phyin-pa bcu

Sanskrit: daśapāramitā

Synonyms: Ten paramitas; Ten far-reaching attitudes

Other languages

العربية: الاكتمالات العشرة
Deutsch: Zehn Vollkommenheiten

Related articles