Twelve scriptural categories

The twelve classes of Buddha's scriptural (verbal) teachings divided according to a textual point of view – namely, (1) expositions on themes of practice, (2) melodic verses, (3) revelatory accounts, (4) metered verses, (5) special verses, (6) ethical narratives, (7) illustrative accounts, (8) ancient narratives, (9) past life accounts, (10) epic presentations, (11) fabulous accounts, and (12) decisive explications.

Tibetan: གསུང་རབ་ཡན་ལག་བཅུ་གཉིས། gsung-rab yan-lag bcu-gnyis

Other languages

Русский: Двенадцать текстуальных категорий
Tiếng Việt: Thập nhị bộ kinh

Related articles