Eight types of consciousness

In the Chittamatra system, in addition to the six types of consciousness asserted in the other tenet systems – eye consciousness, ear consciousness, nose consciousness, tongue consciousness, body consciousness and mind consciousness – deluded awareness and foundation consciousness (Skt. ālayavijñāna).

Tibetan: རྣམ་ཤེས་བརྒྱད། rnam-shes brgyad

Synonyms: Eight consciousnesses

Other languages

Deutsch: Acht Bewusstseinsarten