One of the five branch schools of the Mahasanghika division of the 18 schools of Hinayana. It asserted Buddha as a transcendent being, whose body is beyond the perishable ones of this world, thus forming the basis for the Mahayana explanation of the Three Bodies of a Buddha.

Tibetan: འཇིག་རྟེན་ལས་འདས་པར་སྨྲ་བ། 'jig-rten-las 'das-par smra-ba

Sanskrit: lokottaravāda

Other languages

Deutsch: Lokottaravada
Español: Lokottaravada
Русский: Локоттаравада