Eightfold noble path

(1) Eight types of practices for developing the three higher trainings: higher training in ethical self-discipline, higher training in concentration and higher training in discriminating awareness – namely, right view, right thought, right speech, right boundary of action, right livelihood, right effort, right mindfulness, and right absorbed concentration. (2) As one of the sets included in the thirty-seven factors leading to a purified state, the same set of eight, divided into the branch that thoroughly cuts off, the branch that brings understanding, the branches that generate confidence in others and the branches that serve as antidotes. They are developed in full with an accustoming pathway of mind (path of meditation).

Tibetan: འཕགས་ལམ་ཡན་ལག་བརྒྱད། 'phags-lam yan-lag brgyad

Sanskrit: āryāṣṭāṅgamārga

Pali: ariyāṭṭhaṅgikamagga

Synonyms: Eightfold path; Eight branches of an arya pathway of mind

Other languages

العربية: المسار الثماني النبيل
Deutsch: Achtfacher edler Pfad
Tiếng Việt: Bát chánh đạo

Related articles