Five degenerations

When the human lifespan is less than a hundred years, people are not receptive to the Buddha's teachings because of (1) degeneration of lifespan – when lives pass ever faster, (2) degeneration of disturbing emotions – when these are rampant even among monks and nuns, (3) degeneration of outlook – when especially among householders there is little respect in anything constructive, (4) degeneration of beings – when people become less fit or capable of physically taking care of themselves, and (5) degeneration of the times – when natural resources run out and the environment degrades.

Tibetan: སྙིགས་མ་ལྔ། snyigs-ma lnga

Other languages

Deutsch: Fünf Degenerationen
Español: Cinco deterioros