The traits or features on the mental continuum of limited beings that enable them to attain a purified state (Skt. bodhi). According to some Chittamatra and Svatantrika texts, there are three types of family-traits: those that enable one to become a shravaka arhat, a pratyekabuddha arhat or a Buddha. The Sanskrit term "gotra" literally means "caste."

Tibetan: རིགས། rigs

Sanskrit: gotra

Other languages

Deutsch: Familieneigenschaften
Español: Rasgos familiares

Related terms