Subsequent cognition

One of the seven ways of knowing something: a nonfraudulent, but not fresh, cognition of an object. It is the second phase of a valid bare cognition or inferential cognition and is asserted only by the Gelug Sautrantika, Chittamatra, and Svatantrika tenet systems.

Tibetan: བཅད་ཤེས། bcad-shes

Sanskrit: chedajñā

Other languages

Related terms

Related articles