The literal meaning of the Sanskrit term is a "community"; the literal meaning of the Tibetan translation is "those intent on a constructive goal." Four or more people from any of the four groups of the monastic community: full or novice monks or nuns - the four need not necessarily be all from one group or one from each group - and who have unlabored renunciation and are intent on ridding themselves of disturbing emotions and attitudes and thus attaining liberation.

Tibetan: དགེ་འདུན། dge-'dun

Sanskrit: saṃgha

J. Hopkins: Spiritual community

Other languages

العربية: سانغا
Deutsch: Sangha
Français: Sangha
Italiano: Sangha
Русский: Сангха
Tiếng Việt: Tăng già

Related terms

Related articles