One of the New Translation Period traditions of Tibetan Buddhism. It has two branches, Shangpa Kagyu (shang-pa bka'-brgyud) deriving from Kyungpo Naljor and Dagpo Kagyu (dvags-po bka'-brgyud) deriving from the line Naropa, Marpa, Milarepa and Gampopa. The Dagpo Kagyu branch has eight sub-branches: the four major Dagpo Kagyu lineges and the eight minor Dagpo Kagyu lineges .

Tibetan: བཀའ་བརྒྱུད། bka'-brgyud

Other languages

العربية: كاغيو
Deutsch: Kagyü
Italiano: Kagyu
Русский: Кагью
Tiếng Việt: Phái ca-nhĩ-cư
简体中文: 噶举派
繁體中文: 噶舉派

Related terms

Related articles